Practice saying it out loud
Explore realistic oral-board practice, AI voice coaching and written feedback for the role you are pursuing.
Explore interview preparation →Eagan · Minnesota · City / town police
Hiring process, pay research and preparation guide.
Applicant route covered: Eagan, Minnesota employer overview, page updated September 3, 2026. Traditional officer, part-time cadet, Pathways to Policing career-change and lateral routes have different entry and education conditions. A recruiting headline and general application portal do not verify an open announcement, available funded seat or filing deadline.
Page lists lateral-scale amounts of $104,542 at one year, $115,053 at two years and $120,807 at three years, without repeating a period/effective date in that block. Do not promise assigned step or convert these to verified current annual compensation. One full-time licensed-service year and out-of-state reciprocity review are distinct route conditions. Tailored onboarding is possible, not guaranteed waiver of screening.
General police department, not a dedicated recruiter verified here
651-675-5700No physical test events, numerical cutoffs, scoring or retest rules verified on this page. Paid on-duty workouts and wellness incentives describe employee programs, not pre-employment physical standards. Confirm the actual current route's assessment with the employer; do not substitute another department's test or treat wellness benefits as medical advice.
Employer advertises provided equipment, health/vision/dental/life coverage, peer support/wellness, professional development and continuing-education assistance. It lists a December 1 holiday check of 133 pay hours, 120 first-year vacation hours and 40 hours on hire, 96 annual sick-leave hours with unlimited accrual, and ten-hour workdays. Current contract, individual eligibility, approval, allocation and stacking terms are unverified; the vacation figures are not automatically added together here. Cadet tuition reimbursement is conditional, distinct from accepted Pathways paid college attendance.
Page lists longevity percentages of 4% at five years and 2.5% at ten and fifteen years, and separately describes a 9% increase over top patrol pay for a fifteen-year veteran. Preserve those advertised descriptions without calculating a guaranteed salary or assuming compounding/stacking. FTO, shift differential, overtime opportunities and specialized assignments are not automatic entry pay or open positions.
Partial route-specific preparation guide, not complete legal eligibility or current vacancy verification. Existing registry's older four-week academy statement is superseded for this review: current source states in-house academy before FTO but no duration. Do not transfer lateral or specialty experience requirements to novice routes, treat staff testimonials as guarantees or equate paid Pathways school attendance with unconditional funding for any applicant. Current provider notices, Minnesota POST rules, college program terms and pay agreement not independently reviewed. No forms, application, account, subscription, personal information or outreach used.
Official research source ↗No test preset is imported from this profile. Bring current employer instructions to your preparation.
A general page review does not confirm every topic. These are research records—not a guarantee that requirements remain unchanged or that a job is open.
Use current employer instructions to organize your application documents, practice explaining your experience and prepare for the correct physical test. Enter Prepared is independent of this employer.
Suggest a source-backed correction →Eagan, Minnesota employer overview, page updated September 3, 2026. Traditional officer, part-time cadet, Pathways to Policing career-change and lateral routes have different entry and education conditions. A recruiting headline and general application portal do not verify an open announcement, available funded seat or filing deadline.
Traditional route: employer describes at least a two-year law-enforcement degree and completion of Skills. This is not a complete current job announcement or independent verification of Minnesota POST licensing, age, citizenship/work authorization, driving or disqualifier rules. Cadet route: employer describes applicants enrolled in a two- or four-year college degree program or already holding a degree, part-time cadet work while in school and possible tuition reimbursement after acceptance. Confirm qualifying degree programs and reimbursement/appointment conditions; do not impose completed law-enforcement education on every cadet applicant. Pathways to Policing: employer describes at least a two-year degree in any field. After acceptance it advertises paid attendance at Hennepin Technical College, approximately 22 weeks, followed by the licensing exam. Success is a condition of subsequent officer promotion; current openings, selection criteria, costs covered, repayment obligations and controlling terms remain unverified. Lateral route: employer describes at least one year of full-time service as a licensed police officer and directs out-of-state applicants to Minnesota POST for reciprocity. This service requirement is lateral-specific, not a prerequisite for the traditional, cadet or Pathways routes. Specialty experience and promotional tenure are not initial officer prerequisites. These are selected requirements, not the complete current eligibility or disqualifier list.
Page lists lateral-scale amounts of $104,542 at one year, $115,053 at two years and $120,807 at three years, without repeating a period/effective date in that block. Do not promise assigned step or convert these to verified current annual compensation. One full-time licensed-service year and out-of-state reciprocity review are distinct route conditions. Tailored onboarding is possible, not guaranteed waiver of screening.
Advertised officer starting salary — effective schedule not stated: $95,020/year; not cadet or Pathways school pay; Advertised top patrol amount after 36 months — undated: $120,807; confirm current schedule and eligibility; Advertised part-time cadet or accepted Pathways school-attendance rate — undated: $28.38/hour; route conditions apply. Confirm current rates and your eligible step with the employer.
Identify the correct route and consult its controlling announcement through the official application channel before sending personal information. The linked employment provider and its current vacancy details were not requested or submitted; no active route or deadline is asserted. The cadet and Pathways descriptions condition school/work participation on acceptance and later officer promotion on success. The page does not provide a complete pre-employment testing sequence, background/offer chronology, written-test provider or current numerical passing scores. New officers complete an in-house academy before field training with assigned training officers. Current page does not specify academy duration. This departmental onboarding is not the initial licensing program; paid Pathways college attendance is a separate, explicitly described route. The employer describes streamlined hiring and tailored or accelerated field training for qualified lateral applicants. It does not guarantee a particular duration, waived licensing standards or automatic selection.
No physical test events, numerical cutoffs, scoring or retest rules verified on this page. Paid on-duty workouts and wellness incentives describe employee programs, not pre-employment physical standards. Confirm the actual current route's assessment with the employer; do not substitute another department's test or treat wellness benefits as medical advice.
Employer advertises provided equipment, health/vision/dental/life coverage, peer support/wellness, professional development and continuing-education assistance. It lists a December 1 holiday check of 133 pay hours, 120 first-year vacation hours and 40 hours on hire, 96 annual sick-leave hours with unlimited accrual, and ten-hour workdays. Current contract, individual eligibility, approval, allocation and stacking terms are unverified; the vacation figures are not automatically added together here. Cadet tuition reimbursement is conditional, distinct from accepted Pathways paid college attendance.
Current hiring status and application deadlines are not verified. A recruiting page alone does not confirm an opening. Use the employer’s current announcement before applying.
This partial profile was reviewed 2026-10-24. That is not a vacancy verification date, and reading this page does not refresh the underlying research.
Selected researched profiles, not a complete nearby or salary-matched list.
Browse all listed Minnesota agencies →
From agency research to preparation
Use the employer’s current instructions as your checklist. Enter Prepared helps with the preparation—not the hiring decision. Agency research remains free, with no account required.
Explore realistic oral-board practice, AI voice coaching and written feedback for the role you are pursuing.
Explore interview preparation →Organize your résumé, letter of interest and supporting documents around the actual announcement.
Explore document preparation →Build preparation around the test, your starting point, schedule and equipment. Confirm current standards with the employer.
Explore physical preparation →Start with the free preparation kit, or compare paid packages and their current allowances. No purchase is required to use this directory.